## MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH MEETING OF ST. JOHN'S CHURCH Washington, Connecticut January 28, 2024

The meeting marks the 228th year of St. John's Episcopal Church in Washington, Connecticut, and was held in the Parish Hall after the 10:00 a.m. Mass, and called to order at 12:02 p.m. Substantially more than a quorum of parishioners was present, including Fr. Hahneman, Tom Brand, Michael Del Nin, Rebecca Bent, David & Camille Gillespie, Karen & Evan Saxe, Richard Snider & Jon Somes, Ine Laverge, Emily Fitzhugh, Bob & Sally Futh, Bob & Sara Coles, Rod Pleasants, Richard & Leslie Weigel, Justin Ormand & Joseph Claro, Natalie Dyer, Corinne Johnson, Edmond Wheeler Gum, Penny Bardel, Sarah Lee Martin & Andris Kalnins, Susan McFeely, MB Witt, Veronique Dulack, Susie & John Magee, Susan Markert, and Worth Bracken.

Fr. Hahneman opened the meeting with prayer and reviewed the Guidelines of Mutuality provided by the Episcopal Church in Connecticut. Ms. Davis then delivered remarks, thanking Fr. Hahneman, Tom Brand, and the Vestry members for their service and dedication during 2023.

Fr. Hahneman then presented the voting roll, as approved by the Vestry and as amended to include MB Witt and Chris Zaima.

The minutes of the 2023 Annual Meeting were accepted and approved.

Fr. Hahneman presented the slate of officers and Vestry members presented by the Nominating Committee, and it was approved by a vote of those in attendance. The elected slate was as follows:

For Warden for two years: Mary Davis (reelected)

For Warden for one year: *Worth Bracken* (to complete Jay Bauer's term following his resignation)

For Treasurer for one year: David Gillespie

For Assistant Treasurer for one year: Andris Kalnins

For Clerk for one year: Justin Ormand

For the Vestry Class of 2026 for three years: *Laura Daly* (second term), *Veronique Dulack* (second term), *and Justin Ormand* 

For the Delegates to the Diocesan Convention for one year: *Sara Coles and MB Witt* For Alternate Delegate to the Diocesan Convention for one year: *Laura Daly* 

Continuing in their current roles are Vestry members Rebecca Bent, Michael Del Nin and Susan McFeely (Vestry Class of 2024), and Vestry members MB Witt, Sara Coles and Andris Kalnins (Vestry Class of 2025).

Mr. Gillespie delivered the Treasurer's Report and presented the proposed budget for 2023 as approved by the Vestry. The proposed budget was received without comment or question.

Mr. Brand commented on the Music Program for the prior year, noting the many special programs and events that were held, and presenting his vision for initiatives in 2024.

The floor was opened for questions and discussion, including discussion of the Episcopal Church in Connecticut's new bishop, the Right Reverend Jeffrey W. Mello. Appreciation was expressed by all for the generous bequest left to the Church by Hedda van Goeben upon her passing.

Fr. Hahneman addressed the state of the Parish, as more fully set forth in his written report. He thanked everyone in the Parish for their contributions over the past year. He confirmed that he will remain Priest-in-Charge through the end of 2024, and urged the Parish to focus on transitional concerns, in particular the need for the Parish to become a Parish led by parishioners. Fr. Hahneman also noted the need for more Lay Preachers and Lay Worship Leaders, Readers, and

Veejays. He further reported that pledges were up, as was attendance at Christmas Mass and Evensong services.

Fr. Hahneman closed the meeting with prayer. Following the dismissal by Fr. Hahneman at 1:11p.m., the meeting was adjourned.

Reports were submitted by the Priest-in-Charge, the Organist-Choir Master, the Wardens, the Treasurer, the Stewardship Committee, the Building and Grounds Committee, the Readers and Eucharistic Ministers, the Diocesan Delegates, the Northwest Region Leadership Team, the Outreach Committee, the Holiday Fete Committee, the Altar Guild, the Floral Guild, the Lay Worship Leaders & Preachers, and the Hospitality Committee.

Respectfully Submitted, Justin Ormand Clerk

## NOMINATIONS FOR OFFICERS, DIOCESAN DELEGATES, AND MEMBERS OF THE VESTRY FOR 2025

The Committee nominates one Warden in 2025: *Worth Bracken*, currently a Warden, to a new term. The current term of Warden Mary Davis continues through 2025.

The Committee also nominates three Vestry members, to serve in the Class of 2027: *Rebecca Bent, Michael Del Nin*; and *Susan McFeely*.

The Committee also nominates the following Officers: *David Gillespie* as Treasurer, *Andris Kalnins* as Assistant Treasurer, and *Justin Ormand* as Clerk.

Biographical paragraphs for all nominees have been included in prior years and are on file in the Parish Office.

Individuals nominated to be elected at this year's Annual Meeting on February 2, 2025, are listed below in bold italics:

## **OFFICERS**:

Warden: Worth Bracken, for a two-year term Treasurer: David Gillespie, for a one-year term Assistant Treasurer: Andris Kalnins, for a one-year term Clerk: Justin Ormand, for a one-year term
Members of the Vestry Classes of 2025 and 2026 remain unchanged: Class of 2025: Sara Coles, Andris Kalnins, MB Witt
Class of 2026: Laura Daly, Véronique Dulack, Justin Ormand

> VESTRY CLASS OF 2027, for a three-year term each: Rebecca Bent Michael Del Nin Susan McFeely

DIOCESAN DELEGATES AND ALTERNATE, for a one-year term each: Delegates: Sara Coles and M.B. Witt Alternate: Laura Daly

Respectfully Submitted by the Nominating Committee Camille Gillespie Susan Markert Virginia Reynolds